CPR Programs

The Royal Oak Fire Department has been actively involved with CPR education for the community for decades. The department is pleased to offer a variety of classes for its citizens of all ages:
 
  • Basic Life Support (BLS) is a class for people who need CPR for their license or certification. Class members may include doctors, nurses, paramedics, EMTs, and child care providers. The general public is welcome to learn along with medical professionals.
  • Group Classes: The fire department is available for civic groups, family groups, in office education and many other settings. Contact 248-246-3804 to schedule a customized group learning experience.
  • Sidewalk CPR: The fire department offers quick and easy training in "Hands Only" CPR to community groups. This class does not qualify for American Heart Association certification and is designed for the lay person rescuer.  Contact 248-246-3804 to schedule a customized group learning experience

Upcoming Classes


CPR classes are offered twice a month at the Royal Oak Senior/Community Center (3500 Marais). The next classes are scheduled for:
    
  • Wednesday, January 17, 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, January 20, 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, February 21, 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, February 24, 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 21, 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 24, 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 25, 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, April 28, 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, May 23, 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 26, 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 27, 6:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 30, 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Classes cost $40 cash or check only (payable to the City of Royal Oak). For more information call 248-246-3804.

Our Instructors


Instructors are certified by the American Heart Association, and are members of the Royal Oak Fire Department. Our firefighters/instructors are anxious to meet you and partner with you as you become a trained and confident citizen of our community, prepared to face a medical emergency. Call today for enrollment in the next available class.